EVCS Rebates

On March 5, 2019, the Governor signed HB1258, giving spending authority for the Volkswagen Mitigation Trust funds. Of the $8,125,000 allotted to the state, a maximum of $1,218,750 can be used for electric vehicle charging station (EVCS) rebates. The Department will use VW funds from Category 9 (Light Duty ZEV Supply Equipment) as rebates for the project. The South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources administers the programs in South Dakota. Total rebate per the installation of an EVCS will be up to 80% of the cost.

Applicant Location Type Maximum Rebate Amount
Round 1 EVCS Rebates
VW Category 9
West River Electric Association * Wall DCFC/L2
Watertown Municipal Utilities * Watertown DCFC/L2
NorthWestern Energy Mitchell DCFC/L2
NorthWestern Energy Chamberlain DCFC/L2
Brookings Municipal Utilities * Brookings DCFC/L2
West Central Electric Cooperative * Murdo DCFC/L2
Sioux Valley Energy * Sioux Falls DCFC/L2
Total for Round 1    

* Withdrew after selected. Funds will we used in a future round.