Environmental Funding

Grants and loans are available through the Division of Financial and Technical Assistance for projects seeking funding for infrastructure.

Drinking Water Funding

Improving and maintaining the drinking water infrastructure throughout the state via grants and low-interest loans.

View details »

Sanitary & Storm Sewer Funding

Improving and maintaining wastewater treatment and storm water management infrastructure throughout the state via grants and low-interest loans.

View details »

Solid Waste Disposal & Recycling Funding

Improving and maintaining solid waste disposal and recycling capabilities throughout the state via grants and low-interest loans.

View details »

Watershed Restoration Funding

Funds provided to manage the state's nonpoint source (NPS) program projects that identify and address NPS pollution problems.

View details »

Petroleum Release Compensation Fund

Assisting in the cleanup of certain petroleum releases determining the amount of reimbursement due to responsible parties for corrective actions.

View details »

The Board of Water and Natural Resources has the statutory authority for making the funding awards. The Division of Financial and Technical Assistance provides staff for the board and conducts the technical and financial reviews of funding applications. The interest rates for loans are periodically reviewed by the board.

Water and Waste Funding staff work with staff from the USDA Rural Development to coordinate state and federal financial assistance when applicants request financial assistance from both agencies. Staff from both agencies strive to put together a feasible funding package for the applicant.

Program staff also work with the Department of Transportation when applicants that are doing a water or wastewater project concurrent with a road project may request funding from the Community Access Grants. Often these highway and road projects create an opportunity to upgrade the water and wastewater infrastructure at a cost savings by eliminating road repair costs from the water project.

Technical Assistance

General Assistance

MAP - Midwest Assistance Program
LeAnn Kerzman
PO Box 23
Dell Rapids, SD 57077
Phone: (605) 690-5085

South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems
203 West Center Street
P.O. Box 287
Madison, SD 57042
Phone: (605) 556-7219
Fax: (605) 556-1497

1140 N. Main Street, Suite 2
Spearfish, SD 57783-1596
Phone: (605) 642-4031
Fax: (605) 642-4031

South Dakota Municipal League
208 Island Drive
Fort Pierre, SD 57532
Phone: (605) 224-8654
Fax: (605) 224-8655

Water Development Districts

See if your county is located within a Water Development District

Central Plains Water Development District
Lynnette Eckert, Manager
PO Box 7011
1205 North Harrison Ave., Suite 202
Pierre, South Dakota 57501
Phone: (605) 220-1706
Email: cpwdd@midconetwork.com

East Dakota Water Development District
Jay Gilbertson, Manager
132B Airport Drive
Brookings, South Dakota 57006
Phone: (605) 688-6741
Fax: (605) 688-6744
Email: edwdd@brookings.net
Website: www.eastdakota.org

James River Water Development District
Dave Bartel, Manager
P.O. Box 849
Huron, South Dakota 57350-0849
Phone: (605) 352-0600
Fax: (605) 352-0606
Email: davebartel@midconetwork.com
Website: www.jrwdd.com

South Central Water Development District
Deb Benson, Manager
PO Box 43
Armour, South Dakota 57313
Phone: (605) 724-2624
Fax: (605) 724-2204
Email: scwdd@unitelsd.com

Vermillion Basin Water Development District
Brad Preheim, Manager
1111 Railway, Suite #2
Centerville, South Dakota 57014-2135
Phone: (605) 563-2883
Fax: (605) 563-0063
Email: vbwdd@hotmail.com

West Dakota Water Development District
Daniel Mulally
402 Saint Joseph St., Ste 6
Rapid City, South Dakota 57701
Phone: Office: (605) 394-2685
Email: WdWdd0@outlook.com
Website: http://www.westdakotawater.com

West River Water Development District
Jake Fitzgerald, Manager
P.O. Box 407
Murdo, South Dakota 57559-0407
Phone: (605) 669-2931
Fax: (605) 669-3022
Email: jfitzgerald@wrlj.com

Planning and Development Districts

See if your county is located within a Planning and Development District

Black Hills Council of Local Governments
Jennifer Sietsema, Executive Director
730 East Watertown Street, Suite 102
Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone: (605) 394-2681
Fax: (605) 394-6140
Email: JSietsema@wrbsc.com

Central South Dakota Enhancement District
Nicole Gordon, Executive Director
3431 Airport Road, Suite 3, P.O. Box 220
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-2785
Fax: (605) 773-2784
Email: nicoleg@csded.org

First District Association of Local Governments
Todd Kays, Executive Director
P.O. Box 1207
Watertown, SD 57201-1207
Phone: (605) 882-5115
Fax: (605) 882-5049
Email: todd@1stdistrict.org

Northeast Council of Governments
Eric Senger, Executive Director
416 Production St. N., Suite 1
Aberdeen, SD 57401
Phone: (605) 626-2595
Fax: (605) 626-2975
Email: eric@necog.org

Planning & Development District III
Greg Henderson, Executive Director
1808 Summit Street, P.O. Box 687
Yankton, SD 57078-0687
Phone: (605) 665-4408
Fax: (605) 665-0303
Email: districtiii@districtiii.org

South Eastern Council of Governments
Lynne Keller Forbes, Executive Director
500 North Western Avenue, Suite 100
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone: (605) 367-5390
Fax: (605) 367-5394
Emal: lynne@secog.org

State Revolving Fund Programs

SRF Documents

2022 Bond Issue

2020 Bond Issue

2018 Bond Issue

2017 Bond Issue

2014 Bond Issue

2012 Bond Issue

2010 Bond Issue

2010 Bond Anticipation Notes Issue

2009 Bond Anticipation Notes Issue

2008 Bond Issue

2005 Bond Issue

2004 Bond Issue

Annual Reports to Legislative Bonding Committee

Clean Water State Revolving Fund Program

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program